Graduating

Everything you need to graduate from UWA

Congratulations! It’s almost time to celebrate your achievements at your graduation. First, you need to apply to graduate, regardless of whether you’ll attend a ceremony or receive your certificate in the mail (graduating in absentia, Latin for in or during one’s absence). Once you’ve applied, we’ll guide you through the steps required. Read on to find out everything you need to know about graduating at UWA.

 

Those who graduated from UWA in 2020 are eligible to attend a ceremony within two years of graduation. 


The online form for indicating which ceremony you would like to attend has now closed. If you have any questions about your graduation ceremony, please submit them via askUWA and select 'Graduations' as the subject.

COVID-safe guidelines: please be reminded to stay home stay home if you are unwell or have recently been in contact with a positive COVID-19 patient. Remember to practice hand hygiene, physical distancing and respiratory etiquette; and leave/seek assistance if symptoms develop while at a Graduation Ceremony.

 

 Livestream Links  - Coming Soon

 

 Online Program - Coming Soon

 

Important dates

There are a few important dates to be mindful of to make sure you can graduate on time.

Nominated completion period: When you enrol, you’re asked to nominate when you plan on completing your course. This lets us know when to send you an invitation to graduate.

Apply to graduate: When we send you an invitation to graduate, it’s important you apply on studentConnect before the deadline.

Confirmation of attendance: If you apply to graduate at a ceremony, we’ll send you another email to confirm the date and time of your ceremony, and ask you confirm that you’re able to attend.

Course completion: Your course needs to be completed by this date for you to be eligible to graduate – it can be affected by cross-institutional studies or and studying overseas in your last semester.

PhD or master's by research students: You must submit final version documents to the Graduate Research School before Friday 13 November 2020 to be eligible for the December 2020 in absentia conferral. Once your thesis has been classified as 'passed' or 'passed subject to correction', contact the Graduations team via askUWA.



March 2021 Presentation Ceremonies (For 2020 Graduates) Date
Apply to graduate Monday 14 September 2020 to Friday 2 October 2020
Confirmation of attendance Monday 14 December 2020 to Saturday 9 January 2021
Course completion requirements must be met Monday 30 November 2020
Graduation ceremonies in Winthrop Hall Monday 8 March 2021 to Wednesday 10 March 2021

March 2021 Presentation Ceremonies Configuration


 

July 2021 ceremonies Date
Nominated completion period Mid 2021
Apply to graduate Thursday 25 March 2021 to Thursday 22 April 2021
Confirmation of attendance Monday 3 May 2021 to Sunday 23 May 2021
Release of results TBA
Course completion requirements must be met Friday 2 July 2021
Graduation ceremonies in Winthrop Hall Monday 19 July 2021 to Friday 23 July 2021

Draft ceremony configuration coming late March 2021.

 

December 2021 ceremonies Date
Nominated completion period Late 2021
Apply to graduate Late August 2021
Confirmation of attendance TBA
Release of results TBA
Course completion requirements must be met TBA
Graduation ceremonies in Winthrop Hall Tuesday 7 December 2021 to Friday 17 December 2021

Draft ceremony configuration coming late August 2021.

In absentia conferral of awards

Conferral date Apply to graduate by Course completion requirements must be met by
Monday 22 February 2021 25 January 2021 25 January 2021
Monday 29 March 2021
22 February 20215 March 2021
Tuesday 27 April 2021
29 March 2021 29 March 2021
Monday 31 May 2021 27 April 2021 27 April 2021
Monday 28 June 2021 31 May 2021 31 May 2021
Monday 26 July 2021 2 July 2021 2 July 2021
Monday 30 August 2021 26 July 2021 26 July 2021
Tuesday 28 September 2021 30 August 2021 30 August 2021
Monday 25 October 2021 28 September 2021
28 September 2021
Monday 29 November 2021 25 October 2021
25 October 2021
Monday 13 December 2021
26 November 2021
26 November 2021


 

 

X
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.
Confirm