Faculty Awards

The Faculty Awards represent excellence in student and academic achievement at The University of Western Australia. We are extremely proud of our award winners, with their passion, dedication and hard work a representation of the values we hold as a University. 

We wish all students the best for their remaining studies and future careers, and thank our exceptional academic staff for their dedication.

Thank you to all our donors for your continued support of our students, hear from some of our award winners in the video below.

Faculty Award Winners

Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education

Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences 

Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences 

Faculty of Science

Congratulations to all prize and scholarship recipients, whose achievements are testament to talent, hard work, and dedication. Thank you also to UWA’s generous donors for their continued support which enables us to acknowledge our exceptional students.

Professor David Sadler, UWA Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education)


Teaching Award Winners

The Teaching Awards acknowledge the University's outstanding teachers and support staff. We are honoured to have such excellent academic staff, who through passion and innovation inspire students in their chosen fields. It is only through their dedication to learning and teaching that our students are empowered to reach their full potential.


Faculty of Arts, Business, Law and Education


Teaching Excellence Winner (School of Design):  Sophie Giles

Teaching Excellence Winner (School of Humanities): Bonnie Thomas

Teaching Excellence Winner (Conservatorium of Music):  Andrew Foote and Ashley Smith

Teaching Excellence Winner (School of Social Sciences):  Nicola Fraschini

Teaching Excellence Winner (Law School):  Fiona McGaughey and Kate Offer

Teaching Excellence Winner (Graduate School of Education): Gemma Scarparolo and Jennifer Shand

Commendations for Teaching Excellence: Dale AdamsTanya DalziellYu Tao and Aidan Ricciardo

Citation (Faculty Wide) Winner - Faculty Academics: Kirill de Lancastre Jendenove and Kenneth Clements

Citation (Faculty Wide) Winner - Early Career: Craig McCormack

Citation (Faculty Wide) Winner - Professional Staff: Candice Brooking

Citation (Faculty Wide) Winner - Tutors / Sessional Staff: David Tulley and Sarah Malu

Unibank Award: Andrzej Gwizdalski

Jin-Boon Lew Tutor Award: Daniel Silla and Troy Barry

Faculty of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences


Faculty Teaching Award, Individual Teaching: Marco Ghisalberti

Faculty Commendation, Individual Teaching: Pejman Rowshan Farzad and Darren Grasso

Faculty Teaching Award, Facilitation: Lu Jin and Mitchell Chiew

Faculty Commendation, Facilitation: Vincent Lim

Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences


Award for Excellence in Teaching – Individual (Small Group): Rob Whitehead

Award for Excellence in Teaching – Individual (Large Group): Marcus Dabner

Award for Excellence in Teaching – Individual (Early Career Commendation): Stephan Lund

Award for Excellence in Teaching – Team (Duo): Christopher Peacock and Calila Santos

Award for Excellence in Teaching – Team (Multi-member Team): Amber Boyatzis, Rob White, Liz QuailDaniela Ulgiati

Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning: Liz QuailKate HammerJulie Loveny and Justine Colmer

Faculty of Science


Award for Excellence in Teaching – Team: Fiona O’Shea and Dr Vanessa Hayes

Award for Excellence in Teaching – IndividualDr Lisette Kanse

Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning: Jane Chong and Leanne Jiang