

UNIVERSITY APPEALS COMMITTEE Membership and Term

Consť Ref	Membership Category	Member Name	Terms Served	Max. Term	Current Term	Eligible for further term	Comments
4(1)	Members						
4(1)(a)	Nominee of Chair of Academic Board as Chair	Associate Professor Carmela Pestell	Ex officio				
4(1)(b)	The Academic Secretary	Dr Kabilan Krishnasamy	Ex officio				
3(1)(c)	Level C and above academic staff	Professor Robyn Carroll	1. 01.01.2019 - 31.12.2020 2. 01.01.2021 - 31.12.2023	3	2	Yes	Only 2 required for a hearing
3(1)(c)		Associate Professor Kati Tonkin	1. 01.01.2021 – 31.12.2023	3	1	Yes	
3(1)(c)		Associate Professor Lynette Fernandes	1. 01.01.2021 – 31.12.2023	3	1	Yes	
3(1)(c)		Professor Marc Tennant	1. 01.01.2019 – 31.12.2020 2. 01.01.2021 – 31.12.2023	3	2	Yes	
3(1)(d)	Level 9 and above professional staff	Mr Paul Lloyd	1. 01.01.2020 – 31.12.2022	3	1	Yes	Only one required for a hearing
3(1)(d)		Ms Gina Barron	1. 01.01.2021 – 31.12.2023	3	1	Yes	
3(1)(e)	the President, Guild of Undergraduates	Mr Amitabh Jeganathan	Ex officio				
3(1)(f)	The President, Postgraduate students' Association	Mr Max Beard	Ex officio				
3(1)(g)	Up to two Co- opted member	Associate Professor Michael Wise	1. 01.01.2020 – 31.12.2022	2	1	Yes	
3(1)(g)							

Quorum: All required members present

EXTRACT OF CONSTITUTION – UNIVERSITY APPEALS COMMITTEE

4. Membership

- (1) The Appeals Committee comprises:
 - (a) the Chair of the Academic Board, or nominee, as Chair;
 - (b) the Academic Secretary, or nominee;
 - (c) at least four academic staff members (Level C and above) elected by the Academic Board of whom two are required to be present in an appeals hearing;
 - (d) at least two professional staff members (Level 9 and above) elected by the Academic Board of whom one is required to be present in an appeals hearing;
 - (e) The President of the Guild of Undergraduates for matters relating to undergraduate studies; and/or
 - (f) the President of the Postgraduate Students' Association for matters relating to postgraduate studies.
 - (g) Up to two co-opted members (academic / professional staff) for specific expertise.