Graduating

Everything you need to graduate from UWA

Congratulations! It’s almost time to celebrate your achievements at your graduation. First, you need to apply to graduate, regardless of whether you’ll attend a ceremony or receive your certificate in the mail (graduating in absentia, Latin for in or during one’s absence). Once you’ve applied, we’ll guide you through the steps required. Read on to find out everything you need to know about graduating at UWA.

Important dates

There are a few important dates to be mindful of to make sure you can graduate on time.

Nominated completion period: When you enrol, you’re asked to nominate when you plan on completing your course. This lets us know when to send you an invitation to graduate.

Apply to graduate: When we send you an invitation to graduate, it’s important you apply on studentConnect before the deadline.

Confirmation of attendance: If you apply to graduate at a ceremony, we’ll send you another email to confirm the date and time of your ceremony, and ask you confirm that you’re able to attend.

Course completion: Your course needs to be completed by this date for you to be eligible to graduate – it can be affected by cross-institutional studies or and studying overseas in your last semester.

PhD or master's by research students: You must submit final version documents to the Graduate Research School to be eligible for the July 2020 ceremonies. Once your thesis has been classified as 'passed' or 'passed subject to correction', contact the Graduations team via askUWA.

July 2020 ceremonies Date
Nominated completion period Mid 2020
Apply to graduate Thursday 26 March to Thursday 23 April 2020
Confirmation of attendance Monday 4 May to Sunday 24 May 2020
Results release
Course completion requirements must be met
Thursday 2 July 2020
Graduation ceremonies in Winthrop Hall Thursday 23 to Saturday 25 July 2020

Draft ceremony configuration coming March 2020.

December 2020 ceremonies Date
Nominated completion period End 2020
Apply to graduate Thursday 27 August to Wednesday 23 September 2019
Confirmation of attendance Thursday 1 October to Saturday 24 October 2019
Results release
Course completion requirements must be met
Monday 30 November 2020
Graduation ceremonies in Winthrop Hall Tuesday 8 to Saturday 12 December 2020

Draft ceremony configuration coming August 2020.

In absentia conferral of awards

Conferral date Apply to graduate by Course completion requirements must be met by
Monday, 25 November 2019 28 October 2019 28 October 2019
Monday, 16 December 2019 25 November 2019 2 December 2019
Tuesday, 28 January 2019 16 December 2019 16 December 2019
Monday, 24 February 2020 28 January 2020 28 January 2020
Monday, 30 March 2020 24 February 2020 24 February 2020

Important steps

Watch our video to find out what’s involved in graduating from the University and visit our other pages to make sure you're fully prepared.