School of Biomedical Sciences

Understanding the basis of health and disease

UWA’s School of Biomedical Sciences encompasses teaching and research in a range of biological, medical and health-related fields.

The School comprises seven divisions and also houses the Centre for Respiratory Health, the Centre for Cell and Regenerative Medicine, The Marshall Centre, and the Centre for Genetic Origins of Health and Disease. It also has strong links with the Centre for Microscopy and Cellular Analysis, PathWest, Telethon Kids Institute and the Harry Perkins Institute for Medical Research.

Our divisions;

Our range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses give students the opportunity to gain a greater understanding of the intersection between human pathology and health, and an awareness of the approaches and applications of the biomedical scientific disciplines. A range of innovative teaching practices, such as the use of virtual reality (VR), are employed to enhance the student experience. Our postgraduate courses are designed and taught in close collaboration with industry partners to ensure you graduate with strong lab skills and are employment-ready.

School research encompasses neuroscience, physiology, biochemistry, cell biology and the paraclinical disciplines of microbiology, immunology, pathology and pharmacology. Our research in these areas aims to address global biomedical challenges such as obesity, cancer, neurological diseases, cardiovascular disease, infectious diseases and antibiotic resistance. The School’s researchers are funded by a variety of agencies, including the NHMRC, Cancer Research Trust, Cancer Council WA, Department of Health WA and the RPH MRF.

group Created with Sketch.

3000+ undergraduate students

200+ staff

microscope Created with Sketch.

150+ postgraduate students

Research news

Courses of interest

Adjunct Queries

For any queries, please contact the relevant School or UWA Affiliated Centre: 

School of Biomedical Science: [email protected]
Centre for Child Health Research: [email protected]
Centre for Medical Research: [email protected]

Collaborations and industry partners

  • Queen Elizabeth II Medical Centre
  • Royal Perth Hospital
  • Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital
  • Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Department of Agriculture and Food WA (DAFWA)
  • Australian National Apple Breeding Program, Pom West
  • PathWest
  • King Edward Memorial Hospital
  • Telethon Kids Institute
  • Harry Perkins Institute for Medical Research
  • Medical Research Foundation
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Department of Defence
  • CRC for Honey Bee Products
  • National Centre for Asbestos Related Diseases
  • Victor Chang Institute for Cardiac Research in Sydney
  • Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute 
  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine
  • Peter Mac Cancer Centre
  • Curtin University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Notre Dame University
  • Murdoch University and Sungkyunkwan University (Seoul, South Korea)
  • University of California, San Diego
  • Albert Einstein College of Medicine 
  • University of Melbourne
  • La Trobe University
  • Technology Federal University – Paraná (Brazil)


map marker big Created with Sketch.


Room G11 (Ground Floor) M Block QEll Medical Centre