Providing informed leadership by maximising the policy impact of UWA research in Western Australia, Australia and the Indian Ocean region


UWA Public Policy Institute logo


The UWA Public Policy Institute (UWA PPI) is a bridge between academic research and government, public and business needs, delivering real-world policy impact at state, national and regional levels.

UWA PPI helps to provide solutions to local and regional policy challenges, both current and future. Through our collaboration with UWA academics and research users and practitioners we support a healthy and effective policy-ecosystem in Perth and WA.

Drawing on UWA’s distinct geographical advantage as Australia’s Indian Ocean capital city, and by championing an evidence-based approach to policy-making, we also create fresh opportunities for UWA to collaborate with countries across the region.

We do all of this by 

  • translating current UWA research insights into private policy roundtables, public awareness events and report launches;
  • building capacity with UWA academic staff to enable successful policy engagement;
  • commissioning and publishing evidence-based reports to inform state government strategic priorities;
  • delivering programs that nourish leadership capabilities to meet the future challenges of the Indian Ocean region.



Outline of Australia in red dirt

Re-imagining Australia: Migration, culture, diversity
Practical suggestions on the challenges and opportunities ahead

Re-imagining Australia: Migration, culture, diversity gathers together 11 essays from leading leading academics, politicians and practitioners that look at particular aspects of ethnic pluralism in Australia. 

Re-imagining Australia (PDF 0.8MB)

Let Every Stage Advance
Policy Ideas for Australia’s Fiftieth Parliament

Let Every Stage Advance: Policy Ideas for Australia’s Fiftieth Parliament contains 11 short essays from newly elected federal MPs and Senators, on the topic of a policy idea whose time is yet to come. The project has sought to engage with politicians, at the start of their parliamentary careers, on long-term public policy challenges that face our nation over the next 15 years.

Let Every Stage Advance (PDF 1MB)


All publications

Past events




Advisory Board

UWA PPI’s Advisory Board is comprised of State, National, Regional and International leaders.

Connect with us