Skip to navigation Skip to content
great gate (1 of 1).jpg


The University of Western Australia Act 1911 (WA) establishes the Senate as the governing authority of the University with responsibility for "the entire control and management of the affairs of and concerns of the University".

Standing committees of the Senate meet regularly and make recommendations to the Senate on relevant matters.

The Senate consists of 17 members:

  • the Chancellor - ex officio
  • the Vice-Chancellor - ex officio
  • three appointed by the Governor
  • two elected by Convocation
  • one elected by and from the academic staff of the University
  • one elected by and from the general staff of the University
  • the Chair of the Academic Board
  • two elected by and from enrolled students of the University
  • not more than five co-opted members.

All elected, appointed and co-opted members, other than students, have three-year terms and in normal circumstances serve no more than three successive terms.

Senate Membership [106 KB DOCX]

Senate Membership [140 KB PDF]

Senate Charter and Senate Code

The Senate Charter defines the powers of the Senate.

The Senate Code outlines the legal responsibilities, accountabilities and liabilities of each member of the Senate and details the standards and conduct to be adhered to by those members.

Senate Code [273 KB PDF]

Senate Charter [172 KB PDF]

Matters retained by the Senate

The Senate retains the following matters to itself:

Matters retained by the Senate [181 KB PDF]

Matters retained by the Senate [72 KB DOCX]

Governance framework

The University of Western Australia Governance Overview outlines the rules, relationships, systems and processes by which the University is governed including those set down in the UWA Statute, Senate Regulations and Standing Orders of the Senate.

Senate 2024 Meeting Dates

Meeting Date
Document Submission Date
Placeholder Deadline*
*Advise the University Secretary of items
not on the Work Program or Actions
Arising for inclusion in the agenda
12 March 2024 22 February 2024 19 February 2024
13 May 2024 24 April 2024 19 April 2024

29 July 2024

11 July 2024 8 July 2024
9 September 2024 22 August 2024 19 August 2024
28 October 2024 10 October 2024 7 October 2024
2 December 2024 14 November 2024 11 November 2024


Senate election form

Eligible staff who wish to nominate for election under section 8(1)(b) and 8(1)(c) of the University of Western Australia Act 1911 are required to complete and return either:

Nomination Form Non-Academic (Professional) Staff Member to Senate
[108 KB DOCX]

Nomination form Academic Staff Member to Senate
[107 KB DOCX]


Cookies help us improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.