Event details


Date and time

  • Friday 27 May 2022, 7pm


  • Anyone who likes music

Event Fee

  • from $22


  • On sale
Book now


Stravinsky’s turbulent ‘Symphony in Three Movements’ is presented alongside the coveted Ransom Composition Prize.

The Dorothy Ellen Ransom Prize in Composition continues to unearth future classics and shines a light on UWAs highly-talented composers. In this concert, three new works for orchestra are presented by UWA Composition students Oliver Broun, Nicholas Kyriacakis and Rose Russell. Have your say and vote for your favourite new work in the Ransom Prize People’s Choice Award!

This exciting program will also include ‘Children of Drifting Weather’ - a collaborative production between 2021 Ransom prize winner  Moses Kington-Walberg, artist Susan Flavell and performance artist Sian Murphy. This multifaceted production combines music, art, and performance into a ghostly sonic and visual experience.

To complete the program, we visit one of the 20th century’s most extraordinary musical figures, Igor Stravinsky, who wrote his turbulent ‘Symphony in Three Movements’ in 1945 as a response to the newsreels and documentary images of the second world war, the work abounds in jagged energy.

Join us for an exciting night of orchestral music!

Moses Kington-Walberg  - Children of Drifting Weather 

Ransom Prize Finalists
Oliver Broun - Cuttlefish
Nicholas Kyriacakis - Anayenisis
Rose Russell  - Images of a Forgotten Seafarer

Igor Stravinsky - Symphony in Three Movements

UWA Symphony Orchestra
James Ledger (conductor)

Time: 7pm

Venue: Winthrop Hall

$25 Standard
$22 Concessions