Specialist surgeon, law and security experts honoured

30/01/2024 | 4 mins

Burns specialist Winthrop Professor Fiona Wood, security expert Greg Moriarty and legal stalwart the Honourable John McKechnie were among 24 staff and alumni from The University of Western Australia recognised in this year’s Australia Day Honours.

UWA alumni Professor Wood, Mr Moriarty and Mr McKechnie received an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in recognition of their outstanding achievements and service.

Professor Wood (DLitt '04), who is also a staff member in UWA’s Medical School, was recognised for her contribution to plastic and reconstructive surgery, to medical research, and as clinician scientist and mentor.

The Australian Living Treasure and 2005 Australian of the Year is the director of the Royal Perth Hospital burns unit and the Western Australia Burns Service.

Professor Fiona Wood Image: Winthrop Professor Fiona Wood. Picture: Fiona Wood Foundation & Raw Image Tony McDonough

Professor Wood has dedicated her life to the treatment of those suffering from burn injury and ensuring that the quality of the scar outcome is worth the pain of survival.

Mr Moriarty (BA '86), the Secretary of the Federal Government’s Department of Defence, was recognised for his service to public administration in leadership roles, particularly in national and international security.

A senior Australian public servant and diplomat, Mr Moriarty has worked in the Defence Intelligence Organisation and served in the headquarters of the United States Central Command in the Persian Gulf during Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm.

Before being appointed Secretary of Defence, he held senior roles in the Prime Minister's office, as the International and National Security Adviser and as Chief of Staff to former prime minister Malcolm Turnbull.

Commissioner of the Corruption and Crime Commission, Mr McKechnie (LLB '73), was recognised for distinguished service to the law, the judiciary, and the community of Western Australia.

Since 1975, Mr McKechnie has been a solicitor to Counsel, chief prosecutor to Director of Public Prosecutions, Supreme Court judge, senior judge and now oversees the Corruption and Crime Commission.

He teaches the next generation of WA lawyers and has written a book about criminal law in WA – the 10th edition of which is due out in May.

Associate Professor Hayley Christian, from UWA’s Medical School, received a Member of the Order of Australia General Division (AM) in recognition of her service to children's health through policy development and research.

Associate Professor Christian is Head of the Child Physical Activity, Health and Development research team and Program Head of Health Behaviours and Environments at Telethon Kids Institute, Co-Director of the WA Node of the ARC Centre for Excellence for Children and Families over the Life Course, and a National Heart Foundation Future Leader Fellow.

Her pioneering and innovative work seeks to uncover the best environments, policies and programs to overcome sedentary lifestyles and boost the amount of physically active play children undertake every day.

UWA graduate Iain Cameron (BPe '82 Dip Ed '83) was awarded the Public Service Medal (PSM) for outstanding leadership in road safety in Western Australia.

And graduate Dr Revle Bangor-Jones (MPH '09) also received a Public Service Medal, for outstanding public service through strategic leadership of the public health response to COVID-19, including the management of COVID-19 outbreaks on vessels in WA waters.

UWA staff or former staff members and graduates recognised in the Australia Day 2023 Honours List:

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)

For service in a particular locality or field of activity or to a particular group.

Ms Jane Sanders (UWA graduate) BCom '89
Dr Helen Parker (UWA graduate) BEd '74, MEd '78, PhD '91
Dr Gerald Kuchling  
Professor Anna Haebich (UWA graduate) BA '74
Dr Dorothy Erickson (UWA graduate) PhD '92
Mrs Peta Libby (UWA graduate) BSc '91
Mr Mark Stickells (UWA graduate) BA '94
Professor Kirsten Auret (UWA graduate) MBBS '94, GradCertRRM '09
Associate Professor Hayley Christian (UWA graduate) BSc '99, PhD '08
Dr Judith Edwards (UWA graduate) MBBS '79, MPH '96
Dr John Taylor (UWA graduate) BArch '84, PhD '10

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)

For service worthy of particular recognition.  

Mrs Carlsa Carter (UWA graduate) BA '70, GradDipEd '71
Ms Zoe Goss (UWA graduate) BSc '98
Dr John Peter Bana (UWA graduate) BA '66, GradDipEd '68, BEd '70, MEd '76
Dr Virginia Longley (UWA graduate) MBBS '72
Mr David Bean (UWA graduate) BA '76
Mr Peter Hodge (UWA graduate) BArch '73
Ms Julie Adams
Associate Professor Hannah Wilson (Moore) (UWA graduate) GradDipClinEpid '06, PhD '11
Dr Kristen Nowak

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.