Pharmacy trailblazer wins lifetime achievement award

23/04/2024 | 2 mins

A researcher and educator from The University of Western Australia has been recognised with a lifetime achievement award for her dedication and innovative contributions to pharmacy.

The WA Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Associate Professor Liza Seubert at the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia Western Australia Excellence Awards ceremony in Perth.

Associate Professor Seubert, from UWA’s School of Allied Health, said she was honoured to have her work as a pharmacist and teacher recognised by her peers.

PSA WA President Kristian Ray, Associate Professor Liza Seubert and David Scaife MLA - Member for Cockburn.Image: PSA WA President Kristian Ray, Associate Professor Liza Seubert and David Scaife MLA - Member for Cockburn.

“Throughout my career I have strived to create personalised care and make sure people receive medication reviews,” Associate Professor Seubert said.

“Making sure people have the correct medication in the correct doses can greatly improve quality of life.”

Associate Professor Seubert began her career in community pharmacy before she moved to the Pharmaceutical Council of Western Australia and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency, and then to academia at UWA. 

“I have used innovative ways to facilitate learning including developing an app for pharmacy students to learn medicine information including doses and medicine counselling points,” she said.

While Associate Professor Seubert was a PhD student at UWA she researched ways to enhance information exchange during over-the-counter consultations which has informed curriculum development and accreditation standards nationwide.

This commitment to education led to her to further develop the learning experience of students in the Master of Pharmacy course at UWA with an innovative Courage, Connection and Resilience curriculum.

Associate Professor Seubert is a member of the Council of Pharmacy Schools of Australia and New Zealand and steering committee of the Leaders in Indigenous Pharmacy Profession Education. This network is developing pharmacist education to enable culturally safe pharmacy practice.

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s Excellence Awards recognises local pharmacists involved in innovative practice, those who are striving to raise practice standards, and those who, through their professionalism, provide a model of practice which others strive to emulate.

Media references

Annelies Gartner (UWA PR & Media Adviser) 6488 6876     

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.