Top researchers recognised in VC awards

20/11/2023 | 2 mins

The University of Western Australia’s Vice-Chancellor Professor Amit Chakma has honoured 24 inspiring researchers and technical support staff in the annual Research Awards.

The awards recognise the diverse career paths of UWA researchers and support staff and celebrate the impact of their work in the communities, WA regions and beyond.

Professor Chakma said the awards celebrated the achievements of our outstanding staff members at various levels of their careers.

“I congratulate all of the winners and thank them for their contributions, commitment and dedication to their fields of research,” Professor Chakma said.

Professor Amit ChakmaImage: UWA Vice-Chancellor Professor Amit Chakma.

“These awards recognise excellence; this recognition is important for us to celebrate UWA research and the staff who make that possible.”

VC Senior Research Award — Professor Archa Fox (School of Human Sciences)

VC Senior Research Award — Professor Gary Lee (Medical School)

VC Mid-Career Research Award — Associate Professor Estie Kruger (School of Human Sciences)

VC Early-Career Research Award — Dr Gina Trapp (Medical School)

VC Award for Collaborative Indigenous Research Partnerships — Dr Kate Smith, Dr Dawn Bessarab, Dr Zoe Hyde, Alex Lalovic, Dr Elise Alexander, Dr Athira Rohit,  Glennette Dowden, Lyn Yappo, and Christianne White (Centre for Medical and Dental Health)

2023 VC award winners

VC Award for Collaborative Indigenous Research Partnerships — Dr Tim Langlois (School of Biological Sciences)

VC Indigenous-led Research Award — Erica Spry (Medical School)

VC Award in Research Mentorship — Professor Ho Ching Iu (School of Engineering)

VC Award in Research Impact and Innovation — Dr Elena Juan Pardo (School of Engineering)
Dr Abdul Ihdayhid (Medical School). Maria Flandes Iparraguirre (School of Engineering), Christopher Lamb (School of Engineering), and Michael Vernon (School of Engineering)

VC Award for Research Support Excellence — Ms Emma Pellatt (Office of Research Enterprise)

VC Award for Research Technical Support Excellence — Mr Greg Cawthray (Technical Services)

VC Award for HDR Supervision — Dr    Willem Lesterhuis (School of Biomedical Sciences)

Media references

Annelies Gartner (UWA PR & Media Adviser) 08 6488 6876

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.