UWA finalists in Western Australian of the Year Awards

25/05/2021 | 3 mins

Prime Minister’s Prize for Science winner Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger is among 16 staff, students and graduates at The University of Western Australia to be named as a finalist in the 2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards. Winners will be announced on Friday 4 June.

The Western Australian of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding contribution of Western Australians to our State, who have made an extraordinary impact in a range of fields over the past two years.

UWA finalists

Aboriginal award – Sponsored by Wesfarmers

  • Adjunct Professor Juli Coffin, researcher at Telethon Kids Institute and UWA Centre for Child Health Research

Arts and culture award – Sponsored by Woodside Energy

  • Adjunct Associate Professor and Honorary Doctorate recipient Alec Coles (OBE DLitt '17)
  • Dr Iain Grandage, Artistic Director of the Perth Festival (BMus '94, DMus '17) 

Business award – Sponsored by APM

  • Nathan Bennett, Executive Director of the Perth Festival

Community award – Sponsored by Alcoa of Australia

  • Clinical Associate Professor Chan Yoon Cheah, UWA Medical School (MBBS '04)
  • Dr Richard Goyder AO, graduate (BCom '83, DCom '11)
  • Leigh Andrew Hill, graduate (BA '15)

Professions award – Sponsored by HBF

  • Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger AC, UWA School of Physics, Mathematics and Computing (DSc '89; staff)
  • Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM, Head of UWA Centre for Child Health Research and Executive Director at Telethon Kids Institute
  • Professor Chemmangot Nayar, graduate (PhD '86)
  • Professor Michael Henderson, Honorary Fellow, UWA Medical School

Youth award – Sponsored by BHP

  • Rhiannon Clarke, UWA Bachelor of Science student
  • Sukhjit Kaur Khalsa, graduate (BA '15)
  • Dr Hayley Passmore, Telethon Kids Institute researcher, graduate (PhD '20)
  • Yarlalu Thomas, UWA Medical School student
  • Kendall Whyte, graduate (BSc '15, Grad Cert Bus '19)

Media references

Jess Reid, UWA Media & PR Adviser, 08 6488 6876

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.