Skip to navigation Skip to content

Arthur Lovekin Prize for Excellence in Journalism 2024

The University of Western Australia is pleased to invite applications for the Arthur Lovekin Prize for Excellence in Journalism.

Established in 1928 with a donation to the University by the Hon. Arthur Lovekin – journalist and newspaper editor and owner – this award is available annually for the best contribution published in an Australian newspaper or periodical produced, published or circulated in Western Australia.

Like Sir John Winthrop Hackett, a key figure in the founding of UWA, Lovekin was a substantial benefactor to Perth and a crusader for development. Both Hackett and Lovekin were newspaper editors and proprietors, with Lovekin Drive in Kings Park being named after the latter. Lovekin was the second President of the Kings Park Board and the person responsible for the initiation of the Honour Avenues.

During the late 1920s, many universities in Australia were undertaking experiments in collaborating with journalists and newspaper proprietors. This was in response to the desire for journalists to professionalise their craft, but also represented a joint interest in 'orming public opinion' and a desire to gain a perspective on the 'flood of facts'. According to journalism historian Clem Lloyd, extension classes for journalists were offered at UWA as early as 1919, with the strong support of figures such as Walter Murdoch, John Curtin and the Australian Journalism Association. These extension classes were later formalised into a diploma course. The original diploma course was one academic subject a year for four years. The Lovekin Prize embodies this spirit of collaboration between the Western Australian press, the University, and the Australian Journalism Association, today the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance.

From the Australian Dictionary of Biography and Clem Lloyd.

Application deadline: Friday 9 August 2024

Eligibility and rules

  • The prize consists of $200 and the Lovekin Medal.
  • The prize is open to Western Australian members of the Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance (Media Section) and undergraduate and postgraduate students of The University of Western Australia.
  • Entries for the 2024 award must have been published during the year 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2024, except in the case of a continuing story which covers a connected series of events, provided that the story started before 1 July 2023 and was completed no later than 30 June 2024.
  • Each applicant may submit only one entry for consideration, which may consist of a series of stories on the same topic.
  • In 2024 the award will be judged on two key selection criteria:
    • Journalistic skill, judgement and process.
    • Contribution to the understanding of issues of significance to Western Australians (WA Angle).
    Applicants will be asked to address these criteria in a cover letter.

  • Entries (application form and 1 copy of the piece/s of journalism) must be submitted either by email or post to arrive no later than close of business Friday 9th August 2024.

Conditions relating to the Arthur Lovekin Prize for Excellence in Journalism are available to download below:

Application form

Please download and complete the application form. Submit by email to [email protected] with subject line ‘Lovekin Prize 2024’ or by post to:

School Operations
The University of Western Australia
35 Stirling Highway
Crawley WA 6009

Cookies help us improve your website experience. By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.