Awards and Achievements

02/05/2023 | 2 mins

The University of Western Australia has a continual roll call of awards, scholarships and prizes presented to staff and students.

To recognise these achievements, an article is published on the UWA news page on the website and in UWA Forward on the first week of every month. If you know of great awards or achievements across the University please email [email protected]

Name: Rural Clinical School of WA

Achievement: Staff and alumni of the Rural Clinical School of WA (RCSWA) featured prominently in the recent WA Rural Health Excellence Awards.

 RCSWA Kununurra medical coordinator and senior lecturer Dr Jared Watts was named the Specialist of the Year. Dr Watts is the director for Obstetrics and Gynaecology at WA Country Health Service (WACHS) and heads the Obstetrics and Gynaecology Department in the Kimberley.

Associate Professor Bronwyn Peirce was awarded the Rural Researcher or Educator of the Year jointly with Kathryn Fitzgerald.  Dr Peirce plays an integral role with RCSWA, serving as Bunbury lead medical coordinator, final year coordinator and academic lead for the Regional Training Hubs division, and has helped establish a permanent presence of medical education registrars at Bunbury Hospital.

Congratulations to fellow finalist in this category, Associate Professor Michele Gawlinkski from the RCSWA Perth office.

Other RCSWA identities recognised were Dr Graeme Fitzclarence of the Pilbara Palliative Care Service (WACHS & Bethesda Health Care) with the Building Healthy Country Communities award, RCSWA alumni Dr Lucy Irvine with the WACHS Intern of the Year, and Dr Renita Whittle with the WACHS Resident Medical Officer of the Year.

Fellow alumni Dr Angela Park, Dr Josaphine Sadler and Dr Michelle dos Santos were finalists across several categories. Congratulations to all nominees.

Name: Dr Charmaine Papertalk Green

Achievement:  WA Centre for Rural Health of The University of Western Australia’s Research Fellow Dr Charmaine Papertalk Green has been awarded the 2023 Red Room Poetry Fellowship.

Each year, the Red Room Poetry Fellowship is awarded to a previously-commissioned poet to foster and enhance their poetic and professional development.

Valued at $10,000, the opportunity encourages poets to undertake an intensive period of creative development involving a range of commissions, residency, recordings and publication outcomes.

Dr Papertalk Green’s Fellowship project is titled 'Jugarnu Wangga Migamanmanha (Older woman making talk)'.

Name: Business School students

Achievement: A team of students from the Business School won the Asia-Pacific Sustainable Marketing Case Competition. UWA’s team, The Recyclables, included Kayla Eileff, Daniella De Rozario, Lachlan Brown and Ross Ferguson as well as subs Xinyu Huang and Tiffany Low.

The competition is designed to promote knowledge excellence and leadership in Sustainability within the State of Hawai’i and the Asia-Pacific region.

With the growing concern on the impact of climate change, promotion and sharing of industry knowledge and best practices in sustainability are of paramount importance.

The team were given one week to work on a sustainable marketing case and were then given 15 minutes to present their analysis and recommendations to a panel of judges.

They were commended by the judges for taking an innovative ‘expert in the room’ approach to their presentation and for their depth of analysis and clarity of recommendations.

Congratulations UWA staff and students.

Image at top: Dr Jared Watts, Dr Charmaine Papertalk Green, Dr Bronywn Peirce, Dr Graeme Fitzclarence

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.