Awards and achievements

18/01/2023 | 2mins

The University of Western Australia has a continual roll call of awards, scholarships and prizes presented to staff and students.

To recognise these achievements, an article is published on the UWA news page on the website and in UWA Forward on the first week of every month. If you know of great awards or achievements across the University please email

Name: Neil Robinson
Achievement: Dr Neil Robinson, from the School of Engineering, kept the National Measurement Institute Prize ‘in the family’ by winning the early to mid-career award at the 2022 Metrology Awards held during National Science Week. The prize recognises outstanding measurement-related achievements in Australia or by Australians. Dr Robinson received his award for the development of nuclear magnetic resonance techniques for characterising functional porous materials that are important to energy, environment and societal applications. Previous winners include Dr Paul Stanwix, Dr Arman Siahvashi and Professor Eric May, all from UWA’s School of Engineering.

Name: Jian Zhao
Achievement:  Jian Zhao was announced as the International Tertiary Student of the Year at the 2022 Council of International Students of Western Australia Awards. Jian is described by her PhD supervisor as, “a student who uniquely stands out”. She was the recipient of the 2022 UWA Grand Challenge: Making a Difference Program and initiated a project called English café, which is a program focusing on the well-being of international students. She volunteered at UWA as a Research Unimentor to help newly arrived HDR students transition to research and campus life. She also worked in the Living Room of UWA as a peer supporter to provide mental health support and services to students who are struggling. 

Name: Megan Born
Achievement: Data Science PhD student, Megan Born, has been selected as Science & Technology Australia’s ‘superstar of STEM’ for 2023/24. Megan was recognised for her research into using data to help solve climate change and is one of 60 women selected for the program. Superstars of STEM is an Australian initiative to challenge gender assumptions about who can work in science, technology, engineering and maths.

Name: Emma Carlin, Erica Spry, Zac Cox 
Achievement: Researchers Emma Carlin, Erica Spry and Zac Cox, from the Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services, the Rural Clinical School of Western Australia, won the annual Ray James Memorial Award. The award is presented for the best article published in the Health Promotion Journal of Australia over the past year. The winning article highlighted a study which explored ten Aboriginal Australian men’s experiences during their partner’s antenatal period. The study found the participants valued supporting their partners through pregnancy, making positive changes to their own lifestyle and having access to information on pregnancy. This research demonstrated that these Aboriginal men valued engagement with antenatal care services and highlighted strategies to improve Aboriginal paternal involvement with antenatal care services.  

Congratulations UWA staff and students.

Image above: Emma Carlin, Erica Spry, Zac Cox, Megan Born and Dr Neil Robinson

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.