Awards and achievements

01/07/2022 | 2 mins

The University of Western Australia has a continual roll call of awards, scholarships and prizes presented to staff and students.

To recognise these achievements, an article is published on the UWA news page on the website and in UWA Forward on the first week of every month. If you know of great awards or achievements across the University please email

Name: Aaron Chan
Achievement: UWA alumni Aaron Chan from Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital has been named this year’s WA Early Career Pharmacist (ECP) of the Year. A strong advocate for medicine safety, antimicrobial stewardship and advocating health promotion in his community, Mr Chan served his internship at Pharmacy 777 in Applecross, demonstrating that he was a driving force for recognition for pharmacists as experts in medicine, while collaborating with doctors and educating on medicine harm minimisation. The outgoing PSA WA ECP Chair and member of the ECP Communities of Specialty Interest leadership group, Mr Chan is seen as an inspiration to the career development of ECPs by improving education, collaboration and reflection on the quality use of medicines.

Name: Angus Armstrong, Caelin Winchcombe, Peter Bruce
Achievement: Three students from UWA have been awarded Australian Institute of Sport scholarships.  The AIS Athlete Education Scholarship program supports athletes with their education costs. Recipients include Athletics Australia’s Angus Armstrong who is studying Bachelor of Science (Honours) (Neuroscience), Australian Sailing’s Caelin Winchcombe who is studying for a Diploma in Science and Water Polo Australia’s Peter Bruce a Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) and Bachelor of Commerce student. At the time of application, students must be categorised by their National Sporting Organisation as podium, podium potential, podium ready, developing or emerging within the AIS Athlete Categorisation Framework in 2022.

Name: Kearyn Cox
Achievement: Kearyn Cox has been announced as the winner of the 2022 Walkley Young Indigenous Scholarship. Kearyn is studying for a Bachelor of Arts in journalism and is also a WA Correspondent for NITV at SBS. 

Name: Sagi Peari
Achievement: Dr Sagi Peari, a senior lecturer at UWA Law School, is the recipient of a book contract from Oxford University Press to co-edit a collection of essays, Rethinking Unjust Enrichment: History, Sociology, Doctrine and Theory.  Dr Peari will co-edit the book with Professor Warren Swain from The University of Auckland. The publication will be a cross-disciplinary collection of works from leading academics from across the globe, which will challenge the present coherency of private law. The publication will be suitable for academics, practitioners, commercial actors, and consumers across the globe.

Name: Asha Bowen
Achievement: Associate Professor Asha Bowen from the UWA Medical School has been awarded the 2022 Frank Fenner Award for Advanced Research in Infectious Diseases. The honour – awarded based on a portfolio of original research in infectious diseases – is the peak research award conferred annually by the Australian Society for Infectious Diseases (ASID). Associate Professor Bowen is Program Head of the END RHD research program at Wesfarmers Centre of Vaccines and Infectious Diseases, based at Telethon Kids Institute, and has other key roles including Head of the Infectious Diseases Department at Perth Children’s Hospital, and Co-Chair of ASID’s Australian and New Zealand Paediatric Infectious Diseases Group.

Name: Yasmin Haskell
Achievement: Professor Yasmin Haskell was made a 'shepherdess' of the Academy of the Arcadia in Rome, in the historic seat 'Bosco Parrasio' on Janiculum Hill. The Academy of Arcadia is one of the world's oldest learned societies — founded by Queen Christina of Sweden in 1690 — and the first in Italy to admit women.  Members of the Academy have been poets, scholars, musicians and artists, including Goethe, Pietro Metastasio, Domenico Scarlatti, and Carlo Maratta. Professor Haskell, from UWA’s School of Humanities, studies Latin literature from and since the Italian Renaissance.

Name: Simone Harrington, Sophie Coffin, Joseph Torres
Achievement: Two UWA students and one alumni were recognised at the 2022 Perth NAIDOC Awards. PhD student Simone Harrington, who is studying Clinical Psychology, and Sophie Coffin, who graduated in 2021 with a Juris Doctor and is now Research Associate to the Chief Justice Peter Quinlan, were finalists in the Education Achievement category.  Simone was announced as the Education Achievement Award winner at the ceremony on June 25.  Science student Joseph Torres, who is working at Clontarf College, was awarded the Youth of the Year.  The NAIDOC Perth Awards recognise and acknowledge outstanding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, organisations and businesses who have made a significant contribution to our community in Perth.

Name: Nazila Jahangir
Achievement: UWA School of Design Master of Fine Arts postgraduate student Nazila Jahangir, was recently awarded the Emerging Artist Award at the Ravenswood Women’s Art Prize in Sydney. This is a well-deserved acknowledgment of Nazila’s dedication to painting and a rigorous and committed art practice. The prize marks Nazila’s first major award since moving to Australia to study.

Name: James Dudding
Achievement: UWA School of Design Fine Arts undergraduate student James Dudding, was recently selected as one of 60 finalists from over 780 entries in The Waverly Art Prize 2022. The winners will be announced when the exhibition opens in September at the Bondi Pavilion Gallery in Sydney.

Name: Zoe Sydney
Achievement: UWA School of Design Fine Arts Honours Graduate Zoe Sydney, was recently selected for Hatched 2022, The National Graduate Exhibition at Perth Institute of Contemporary Art (PICA). The exhibition features recent graduates from tertiary art schools and institutions across Australia, selected by a panel of industry experts.

Congratulations UWA staff and students.

Image: Aaron Chan MPS (left) with PSA WA Branch President Keegan Wong, Associate Professor Asha Bowen and Professor Yasmin Haskell


Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.