Queen's Birthday Honours

| 1 min

One of The University of Western Australia’s first graduates in medicine who became one of the State’s top neurosurgeons and led improvements in Western Australian healthcare is among 13 alumni and staff members recognised in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Clinical Professor Bryant Stokes AO, of Nedlands, was one of two UWA alumni to be appointed an Officer in the General Division (AO) of the Order of Australia.

Professor Stokes, who used his specialised training to treat patients with neurological conditions, was awarded the degree of Honorary Doctor of Medicine by UWA in 2016.

He was recognised for “distinguished service to public healthcare governance and standards in Western Australia through leadership and advisory roles”.

Francis Sullivan, of Deakin in the Australian Capital Territory, former Secretary General of the Australian Medical Association and Chief Executive Officer of the Truth, Justice and Healing Council, was also awarded an AO for “distinguished service to the community, particularly through social justice and legislative reform initiatives, and to health and aged care”.

Commissioner for Equal Opportunity, Dr John Byrne, a (PhD, MBA) and former politician Cecilia Padgham-Purich of Holtze in the Northern Territory (BSc, PhD) were appointed Members (AM) in the General Division.

Dr Byrne was recognised for “significant service to people who are deaf or hard of hearing, and to social justice”, while Ms Padgham-Purich, the first female to hold an NT bush seat, was honoured for “significant service to the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory, and to the community through a range of roles”.

Other graduates recognised with an AM were Kevin Edwards of Claremont (LLB, BJuris, LLB), Margaret Halsmith of Jolimont (BA, GradDipEd); Queensland residents Emeritus Professor Rhondda Jones, (BSc, PhD) and Professor Ranjeny Thomas (MBBS, MD); and NSW resident David Vaux (BJuris, LLB).

ACT resident Dr Isaac Seidl (MBBS) was awarded an AM in the Military Division for exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force in health executive leadership.

Graduates awarded a Medal (OAM) in the General Division were: Dr Edmund Adler of Coolbinia (BDS, MDSc), Dr Barry Fatovich of Noranda (MBBS), June Hutchison of Fremantle (BA, GradDipEd) and Simon Gipson of Victoria (MEDMan).

Media references

Anna-lee Harry, UWA Media and PR Adviser, 08 6488 7975

Share this

Related news


Browse by Topic

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.