Our Experts

The Oceans Institute unites experts across a wide range of disciplines, from our core focus areas in marine biology and ecology, physical oceanography and ocean engineering, through to the health and social sciences, including marine environmental law, resource economics, history and archaeology.


Here are just a few of our experts.


Research Themes

To find out more about current research focus areas at the Oceans Institute, contact the following research leaders.

 Energy from the oceans

Prof Ryan Lowe

Prof Greg Ivey

ryan.lowe@uwa.edu.au

greg.ivey@uwa.edu.au

 Maritime security, safety and defence

Prof Chari Pattiaratchi

Prof Erika Techera

chari.pattiaratchi@uwa.edu.au

erika.techera@uwa.edu.au

 Fisheries, food security, and aquaculture

Dr Tim Langlois

Dr Andrew Pomeroy

tim.langlois@uwa.edu.au

andrew.pomeroy@uwa.edu.au

 Marine ecology, conservation and management

Dr Ana Sequeira

Matthew Fraser

andrew.sequira@uwa.edu.au

matthew.fraser@uwa.edu.au

 Coasts and communities

Dr Abbie Rogers

Prof Alistair Paterson

abbie.rogers@uwa.edu.au

alistair.paterson@uwa.edu.au

 Marine plastics Prof Julia Reisser julia.reisser@uwa.edu.au
 Seascapes Prof Peter Veth peter.veth@uwa.edu.au
 Sustainable marine economy Robert Pemberton robert.pemberton@uwa.edu.au

Looking for someone else? 

Refer to the UWA Staff Profile and Research Repository to find other researchers. 

 

Click here to find more experts

Contact Us

The University of Western Australia, Crawley, Perth, Western Australia 6009

map marker big Created with Sketch.

Find us on campus

Ocean Marine Research Centre, Building 453 (Corner of Fairway and Fairway Entrance 4).

Campus map