

INVESTMENT COMMITTEE 12 MARCH 2024

Const' Ref	Membership Category	Member Name	Terms Served	Ref	Term	Eligible for further term	Comments
3.(1)(a)	Members appointed by the Senate						
3.(1)(a)(i)	External member as Chair	Julie O'Neill	1. 01.01.2022 – 27.06.2024*	S R101/21	1	Yes	
3.(1)(a)(ii)	At least one other external member of Senate with appropriate investment expertise and experience	The Hon Neil McKerracher KC	1.12.03.2024 – 21.05.2026*	S RR16/24	1	Yes	
Ex officio a	nd Co-opted						
3.(1)(b)	Up to two co- opted members	Felix Sommerhalder	1. 11.05.2023 – 10.05.2026	IC R 05/23	1	Yes	
	with appropriate investment expertise and experience	Howard Knight	1. 01.01.2022 – 31.12.2024	IC CR 01/22	1	Yes	
3.(1)(c)	The Chief Financial Officer	Leona Marquand	Ex officio				
3.(5)	Standing Invitees						
3.(5)(a)	The Chancellor	The Hon Robert French, AC					
3.(5)(b)	The Vice- Chancellor	Professor Amit Chakma					
3.(5)(c)	The Manager, Treasury and Investments	Mr Trevor Crooke					
4.	Executive Officer						
4.	Executive Officer appointed by the Chief Financial Officer, in consultation with the University Secretary	Ms Lindi Dube					

^{*}aligns with the end of the members term on the Senate

Quorum: Half the number of members (= 4) including at least one member appointed under 3(1)(a)(i) or (ii).

EXTRACT OF CONSTITUTION - INVESTMENT COMMITTEE

3. Membership

- (1) The committee comprises
 - (a) members appointed by the Senate as follows:
 - (i) an external member, as Chair; and
 - (ii) at least one other external member of Senate with appropriate investment expertise and experience;
 - (b) up to two co-opted members with appropriate investment expertise and experience; and
 - (c) the Chief Financial Officer, ex officio.
- (2) At the beginning of each year the committee must appoint from among its members an external member as Deputy Chair.
- (3) Except as set out in (4), an external member is one who does not hold any University position, either paid or honorary.
- (4) For the purpose of membership of this committee, the Senate may determine that a holder of a University position, either paid or honorary with appropriate investment expertise and experience, is an external member.
- (5) The following are standing invitees to meetings of the committee
 - (a) the Chancellor;
 - (b) the Vice-Chancellor; and
 - (c) the Manager, Treasury and Investments.

4. Executive Officer

The Executive Officer to the committee will be appointed by the Chief Financial Officer, in consultation with the University Secretary.

5. Terms of office

The term of office of members is three years.

6. Eligibility for a second or subsequent term of office

At the end of a term of office, members are eligible to be reappointed or co-opted again for the greater of three terms or a maximum of nine years.

7. Skills and/or qualifications of members

- (1) Members appointed to the committee must have appropriate investment expertise and experience.
- (2) In determining co-opted members under 3(1)(b), the committee
 - (a) must ensure that co-opted members provide expertise in areas of need identified by the committee;
 - (b) must consider issues of confidentiality and loyalty; and
 - (c) must consider co-opting members of the alumni, potential future members of the Senate and former members of the Senate.

DOCUMENT CONTROL: TRIM F22/397

Version	Date	Amendment Details	Approval Reference
1/2023	1 January 2023		S R101/21
	-		IC CR 01/21
2/2023	11 May 2023	Felix Sommerhalder	IC 05/23
1/2024	12 March 2024	Neil McKerracher	S R16/24