

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH COMMITTEE CONSTITUTION AS AT 14 JUNE 2021

Governance

University Research Committee

The Constitution of the University Research Committee.

This committee operates in accordance with the <u>UWA Principles for the Operation of Committees</u> and <u>UWA Rules for the Operation of Committees</u>. Members must act in accordance with the <u>University</u> Committee Members' Code of Conduct.

Constitution

1 Committee of the Academic Board

The University Research Committee is a standing committee of the Academic Board.

2 Role

- (1) The role of the Committee is to
 - (a) advise the Academic Council or the University Executive on research matters including the University's research priorities
 - (b) ensure the alignment of school research strategy with University priorities
 - (c) oversee those elements of the University's Strategic Plan relating to research including higher degree by research (HDR), academic enterprise, research infrastructure, and engagement with research consumers, beneficiaries and endusers
 - (d) oversee the University's response to State and Federal Government, and international research policy frameworks, including for example the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative
 - (e) oversee the University's governance around good research practice, including compliance with regulations and legislation involving research with animals, human participants, biological hazards and foreign entities and any other relevant legislation;
 - (f) work with the Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) to develop initiatives to improve the University's research performance, including providing strategic funding, HDR scholarships and supporting cross discipline research opportunities, including through the Institute of Advanced Studies.

3 Membership

- (1) The Committee comprises:
 - (a) the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) as Chair;
 - (b) the Chair of the Academic Board or nominee;
 - (c) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research);
 - (d) the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Health and Medical Research);
 - (e) the Pro Vice-chancellor (Engagement);
 - (f) the Dean of the Graduate Research School;
 - (g) the Director, Office of Research;
 - (h) the Director, Institute of Advanced Studies;
 - (i) the University Librarian;

- (j) nominee of the Pro-Vice Chancellor (Indigenous Education), School of Indigenous Studies
- (k) president of the Postgraduate Students' Association or nominee
- (I) five persons nominated by and from the Heads of School or in the absence of an elected Head of School an alternative Head of School may attend;
- (m) two academic staff members nominated and elected by Academic Board; and
- (n) up to three co-opted members if required for balance or specific experience
- (2) The committee may elect a deputy-chair from among its members.
- (3) Members appointed under 3(1)(I) should have related skills set to serve on this Committee.

4 Terms of office

- (1) The term of office of members appointed under 3(1)(I) is three years.
- (2) The term of office of members elected under 3(1)(m) is three years.
- (3) The term of office of members co-opted under 3(1)(n) is two years.
- (4) At the end of a term of office, members appointed under 3(1)(I), 3(1)(m) and 3(1)(n) are eligible for a second term but must not serve for more than three consecutive terms.

5 Quorum

(1) The quorum for the committee is half the number of members plus one.

6 Decisions

- (1) All matters are decided by consensus in the first instance
- (2) In the event that a decision cannot be reached by consensus decisions will be by a majority of the members present and voting.
- (3) Each member has a vote.
- (4) The chair of the meeting has an ordinary vote and a casting vote.
- (5) Invitees or standing invitees do not have a vote.

7 Frequency of meetings

(1) The committee meets up to four times a year during the period from February to November, and may meet more frequently when required.